Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

November 20, 2024

The Honorable Tom Cole Chair Committee on Appropriations United State House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chair Cole and Ranking Member DeLauro:

We write to express our strong support for a provision in S. 4796, Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act for Fiscal Year 2025, which would set aside \$70 million for a new firefighting foam replacement program at U.S. airports. This provision, authorized under section 767 of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Reauthorization Act of 2024, would safeguard our environment and protect public health by assisting airports in transitioning to fluorine-free firefighting foams.

Traditional firefighting foams – mandated by the FAA for use at our airports – contain per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS), which present potential adverse health effects to the environment and to humans. The Senate's provision offers a comprehensive approach to facilitate the critical and timely transition to the newly approved fluorine-free foams, ensuring that airports have the necessary resources to purchase new foam, clean and decontaminate old equipment, acquire any new equipment, and dispose of old foam.

Again, we urge the inclusion of the Senate's provision that would set aside \$70 million for a new firefighting foam replacement program at U.S. airports. Helping airports transition to fluorine-free firefighting foam as quickly as possible would make significant strides towards our shared goals of environmental stewardship and public health protection. Thank you for your attention to this important matter and for your leadership on the committee.

Sincerely,

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Derrick Van Orden Member of Congress

MAN Dryler

Patrick Ryan Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Troy Carter

Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib

Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell

Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree

Member of Congress

Chell R____

Eric Sorensen
Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell

Member of Congress

me Swedenell

Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean

Member of Congress

ames C. Moylan

Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee

Member of Congress

muil V. Kiedes

Jan Schakowsky

Geg Casa Member of Congress

Harriet M. Hageman Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Jared Moslowitz
Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Katie Porter
Member of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey
Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Cori Bush

Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin

Member of Congress

Jack Bergman

Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Eleano H. Norton

Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress Kevin Mullin

Kevin Mullin

Member of Congress

Yadira Carayeo M.D Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Anthony D'Esposito Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano
Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Timothy M. Kennedy
Member of Congress

Jen **A**. **K**iggans

Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Ju**a**n Vargas

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross

Chkm

Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas

Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett

Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

Kathy Castor

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Young Kim

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán
Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Al Green

Member of Congress

Dans Dollate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio
Member of Congress

Gabe Wasque Member of Congress

Taramenh.

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon
Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress Steny H. Hover Member of Congress

Jernifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

oe Ne<mark>g</mark>use

Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly
Member of Congress

Marcus J. Molinaro Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress